The Delhi police have bagged 15 President’s police medals for gallantry, 13 police medals for meritorious service and two police medals for distinguished service on the occasion of Independence Day this year.

Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic) Sachidanand Shrivastava and Deputy Commissioner of Police (New Delhi) Shankar Dash have been awarded the Police Medals for Distinguished Service.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (South Delhi) H. G. S. Dhaliwal, Assistant Commissioner of Police Bhisham Singh and Inspector Vijay Singh have been awarded the Police Medals for Gallantry for neutralising alleged gangsters Om Prakash alias Bunty and his accomplice Rajesh Sharma in an encounter.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Sanjeev Kumar Yadav and Sub-Inspector Chandrika Prasad and Head Constable Dev Dutt have been conferred the gallantry award for eliminating Mohammad Tariq, an alleged sharpshooter of underworld figure Chhota Shakeel, in Hardwar in 2006. Mr. Yadav has been awarded another gallantry medal along with Sub-Inspector Dharmender Kumar and Head Constables Balwant Singh and Rajbir Singh for the Batla House encounter with alleged militants. Inspector Mohan Chand Sharma was killed and Balwant had sustained bullet injuries in the encounter, in which two alleged militants were killed.

While Sub-Inspector Gagan Bhaskar has been awarded two Police Medals for Gallantry, Head Constables Deshraj and Man Singh and Constable Gite Shridher have also been awarded gallantry medals.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Sardari Lal, Dinesh Chandra Shukla of the Police Training College, Inspector Jagdish Chand Pandey, Inspector (Tech.) Sandip Chakravarty, Sub-Inspectors Kuldeep Raj and Harbans Lal, Assistant Sub-Inspector Rajni Rana, Head Constables Sher Ali, Jorawar Singh, Suresh Kumar Rana, Madhu Bala and Janki and Constable Surender Kumar have been conferred Police Medals for Meritorious Service.

More In: Delhi