Delhi could be getting a new Mayor soon with the tenure of the present Mayor, Dr. Kanwar Sain, set to expire by April-end.

According to Municipal Secretary Meera Akolia, the election for the office of the Mayor would be held at a meeting on April 28.

MCD Spokesperson Deep Mathur said: “Under the DMC Act, 1957, the election to the post of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor has to be held by April 30 at the maximum. This year the date for election has been set to April 28.”

According to sources in the ruling BJP party in MCD, names of Mayor Kanwar Sain, MCD House leader Subhash Arya and BJP councillor Jagdish Mamgain are doing the rounds as the possible party candidate for the post of Mayor.

Along with the election for the new Mayor, election for the new Deputy Mayor would also be held on April 28. The last date for applications is April 23. Election for three vacant posts in the MCD Standing Committee would also be held on April 28. These three posts fell vacant following the retirement of three members: Jai Kishan Sharma, Vijender Gupta and Dr. Rajni Abbi who recently completed their tenure. While Mr. Gupta and Ms. Abbi are BJP councillors, Mr. Sharma is a Congress councillor also holding the post of MCD Leader of Opposition.

Keywords: Civic election

More In: Delhi