Delhi Lieutenant-Governor meets young bravehearts


25 children win National Bravery Award for selfless acts

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Tuesday expressed confidence that the selfless acts of the National Bravery Award-2013 winners will inspire everyone.

During her meeting with the winners of the prestigious award in Parliament Library here, Ms. Kumar praised them for demonstrating exemplary valour while saving lives of others. She also complimented those children who sacrificed their lives in their attempt to save others.

The same day, the 25 bravehearts met Delhi Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung at Raj Niwas here.

Mr. Jung exhorted children to harness their positive energy in improving society and inspiring others to do selfless service.

Congratulating all the winners for their courageous acts, Mr. Jung wished them all the success in life, good health and a bright future. He paid tributes to the parents of the late five children, who laid down their lives for saving others.

Of the 25 children selected for the awards, five have been given the award posthumously. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will confer the National Bravery Awards to these children on the eve of Republic Day. Among the awardees nine are girls. Five awards will be given posthumously. The awardees will receive a medal, certificate and cash.

The most-coveted Bharat Award will be conferred on nine-year-old Mahika Gupta of Delhi, who displayed exemplary valour in saving her brother’s life from the floods at Kedarnath in Uttarakhand.

While the Geeta Chopra Award will be presented to Malieka Singh Tak of Rajasthan for demonstrating grit and determination in fighting off her molesters, the Sanjay Chopra Award was given to Shubham Santosh Chaudhari of Maharashtra for saving two children when their school van had caught fire.

Mausmi Kashyap of Uttar Pradesh and Master Aryan Raj Shukla of Uttar Pradesh have been given Bapu Gaidhani Awards posthumously.

Mausmi sacrificed her life in trying to save her friend from drowning in the river Gomti, while Aryan lost his life in saving four of his friends from drowning in the Saryu.

Sanjay Navasu Sutar of Maharashtra and Akshay Jairam Roj of Maharashtra will also receive the Bapu Gaidhani Awards for displaying their outstanding courage in fighting a leopard.

Other recipients are late M. Khayingthei (Manipur), late Master L. Manio Chachei (Nagaland), late Malsawmtluangi (Mizoram), Tanvi Nandkumar Ovhal (Maharashtra), Kharibam Gunichand Devi (Manipur), Remlalhruaitluangi (Mizoram), Vanlalhruaia (Mizoram), Kangleinganba Kshetrimayum (Manipur), Sagar Kashyap (Delhi), Hani Ngurdinthari (Mizoram), S.S. Manoj (Karnataka), Subin Mathew, Akhil Biju, Yadhukrishnan V.S. of Kerala, Shilpa Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), Saurabh Chandel (Madhya Pradesh), Abhishek Ekka (Chhattisgarh) and Rohit Ravi Janmanchi (Maharashtra).

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 19, 2017 2:45:47 PM |