Delhi Police Commissioner Y. S. Dadwal on Thursday announced that 22 new police stations, which were given the nod by the Union Home Ministry earlier this week, would become operational by September 21. Seven more police stations sanctioned by the Ministry are already functional.

“We are in a process of expansion. We will have enough force in these police stations. The creation of these police stations will make an impact in tackling crime in the city,” said Mr. Dadwal, addressing a press conference here.

The Police Commissioner said creation of more police stations would help in better policing and service to the people. “There will be smaller beats that will substantially reduce response time, besides simplifying the police-public ratio. It will improve handling of complainants, detection rate and quality of investigation,” said Mr. Dadwal. Of the 29 new police stations, 24 are outside Ring Road.

With 22 more police stations becoming operational soon, four new police stations will be added to the North-West district, followed by three each to the South, Outer and North-East districts. Similarly, the South-East, the South-West, the West and the East districts will have two additional police stations each and one more be added to the Central district.

In less than a year, the Central Government has accorded sanction for creation of two districts, 12 sub-divisions, and 40 police stations since October last year. Of these, two districts, four sub-divisions and 17 police stations were created in 2008 and the remaining is being added in the current year. The total number of police stations in the Capital have increased to 155 since September 2008.

The Delhi police have another 14 non-jurisdictional and specialised police stations at railway stations, Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi Metro and for its wings like Crime Branch, Economic Offences, Special Cell and Crime Against Women Cell.

More In: Delhi