The Public Works Department of the Delhi Government has identified 11 corridors here which are riddled with encroachment on public land. The encroachment-prone stretches have been identified by the Special Task Force and the Department on Tuesday launched the anti-encroachment drive on Najafgarh Road.

“In a joint effort by the PWD, Municipal Corporation of Delhi and the Delhi Traffic Police, encroachments were removed on Najafgarh Road from Zakhira crossing to Moti Nagar, over a length of 2.5 kilometres. Most encroachments were in the form of extension of banquet hall, shops and kiosks,” said PWD Secretary Arun Baroka.

The other corridors identified by the Department include Wazirabad Road – from Wazirabad Village to Bhopra Border; Vikas Puri - from District Centre Janakpuri to CRPF Camp; Captain Gaur Marg - from Lajpat Nagar to Maa Anandmai Marg up to Mehrauli Badarpur Road; Aurobindo Marg - from Safdarjang Madarsa to Mehrauli; Najafgarh Road - from Zakhira to Najafgarh; Rohtak Road - from Rani Jhansi Road to Tikri Border; Road No.41 - from Wazirpur Bus Depot to Rithala; G.T. Road - from Malkaganj to Jahangirpuri; Vikas Marg - from ITO Chungi to Karkari Chowk; Ring Road - from Maharani Marg to AIIMS Chowk and Ring Road - from Model Town-III to Civil Lines.

More In: Delhi