Arrangements are in place for counting of votes polled in the Nilgiris Parliamentary constituency for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections held on April 24. The constituency comprises Udhagamandalam, Gudalur, Coonoor, Bhavanisagar, Mettupalayam and Avinashi Assembly segments.

The Nilgiris Collector and District Election Officer P. Sankar told The Hindu here on Wednesday that it would start at the Government Polytechnic College at Kaakathope near here at 8 a.m. on May 16.

Postal votes would be taken up first. Thirty minutes later the votes polled in the 1439 Electronic Voting Machines would commence.

Pointing out that 14 tables have been arranged for each constituency, he said that for each table there would be a counting supervisor, a counting assistant and a micro-observer. Only those with photo identity cards would be allowed inside the counting centre. There will be a three-tier security system and all those entering the centre would be frisked.

Counting officials have been briefed.

Kaakathope will be declared as a restricted area and any attempt to create problems will be dealt with stringently. All the outlets of the Tamil Nadu State Marketing Corporation will be closed on the counting day.

More In: Coimbatore