Commended for distinguished, meritorious and unblemished service

Three Uniformed Service officers from Coimbatore region have bagged the coveted President's Medal and Chief Minister's Medal for distinguished, meritorious and unblemished service.

Awards announced as part of the Independence Day celebrations had the names of Divisional Fire and Rescue Officer, Deputy Commandant of CISF and two police inspectors.

The recipients of the award included P.K. Joy, Deputy Commandant of CISF Unit at Salem Steel Plant.

Mr. Joy who had served in various sectors of CISF security assignments was the recipient of the commendation disc from the Director General of CISF for his efforts to rescue the passengers from the ill-fated Air India flight that crashed at Mangalore airport on May 22, 2010.

N. Subramanian – Divisional Fire and Rescue Services officer is the other recipient.

He joined the service in 1980 and had served in various districts of Tamil Nadu.

He was on duty in 3,000 fire and rescue calls and had so far received 150 cash rewards and 41 Good Service Entry and was a recipient of Anna Award in 2009.

Inspector C. Chandrasekhar of Cyber Crime Unit of the City Crime Branch of the Coimbatore City Police who bagged the Chief Minister's Medal entered the service in 1998 and had served in various capacities.

He had handled many sensational cheating cases and had extensively served in special units of the police.

He has to his credit of having nabbed the Malaysian fugitive Michael Soosai wanted in murder, cheating cases.


Even Interpol had been on the look out for the fugitive, to apprehend them.

Similarly, the other recipient of the Chief Minister's Medal is Thilagavathy – Inspector Technical of the Coimbatore Rural Police.

Ms.Thilagavathy who joined the service in 1975 as Radio Technician was regularised as Sub-Inspector in 1982 and was promoted as Inspector in 2004.

More In: Coimbatore