As many as 25 faculty members belonging to 17 disciplines received the Best Faculty award for 2012-13

Nehru Group of Institutions honoured meritorious teachers with the P.K. Das Memorial Best Faculty Award and Lifetime Achievement Award to commemorate the Founder’s Day on December 15.

As many as 25 faculty belonging to 17 disciplines under the arts and science, management, and engineering domains, were awarded the best faculty award for 2012-13.

Three faculty were honoured with Lifetime Achievement Awards. They were T. Tamizh Chelvam from Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli, for mathematics, M. Selvam from Alagappa University, Karaikudi, for management, and N. Mathivanan from Madurai Kamaraj University, for engineering.

V.N. Rajasekharan Pillai, executive vice-president and Principal Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, the chief guest, handed over the awards and addressed the gathering.

R. Jayaraman, Member Secretary, Centre for Entrepreneurship Development, Tamil Nadu, highlighted the role of teachers in instilling entrepreneurial skills in students.

B. Ilango, former Vice-Chancellor of Bharathiar University, and P. Krishna Kumar, chief executive officer, and secretary of Nehru Group of Institutions, felicitated. P. Krishna Das, managing trustee, presided over the function.

More In: Coimbatore