After the initial confusion regarding the allotment of seat, it has now become clear that N. Dinesh Kumar (38) of Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam would be fighting the electoral battle for the BJP-led alliance from Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency.

Mr. Dinesh Kumar is contesting for the second successive time in Tirupur constituency after he lost in 2009 tallying 86,933 votes out of the total 7,41,714 votes polled. At that time, he was pushed to fourth spot by Kongunadu Munnetra Kazhagam's K. Balasubramanian.

Mr. Kumar, who hails from Kovilvazhi here, also fought the Mayoral elections on his party’s ticket and finished third behind the AIADMK and DMK candidates.

He got 43,378 votes out of the total 2,75,373 valid votes polled.

A postgraduate in International Business, Mr. Kumar is also an entrepreneur involved in a range of business activities.

More In: Coimbatore