Radio Mirchi 98.3 FM presents the third edition of the Mirchi Music Awards, to honour the outstanding achievements of the music industry through the year 2011. The Mirchi Music Awards brings together the film music fraternity from across all the four southern languages and the award function will take place in Hyderabad on August 4.

Addressing a pres conference, Prashant Pandey, CEO, Radio Mirchi said: “The warm welcome and positive feedback from the film industry that we have received on Mirchi Music Awards in the last two years, has inspired us to take it to a new level this year. From screening to selecting to the final awards, each process has been meticulously planned in a structured manner so that no deserving work goes unnoticed.”

This year, the film music artists from South India get a chance to win thirteen awards across categories in each language for the films released in the year 2011.

In addition, there will be two special awards in each language - a Lifetime Achievement Award and a Jury’s Special Recognition Award for outstanding contribution to Film music.

Keeping in mind the interest of radio listeners, there will be two special awards – Radio Mirchi Listener’s Choice award given to “Best song of the year” and “Film album of the year” chosen by popular vote. Each of the four South Indian languages will have separate jury panels headed by a chairman.

The chairman of the Tamil jury is Gangai Amaren, Telugu jury is headed by D. Suresh Babu, the Kannada jury by Hamsalekha and the Malayalam industry is chaired by Kaithapram Damodaran Namboothiri. The entire process of screening, short-listing and selecting of winners is audited by Ernst and Young.


Arts, Entertainment & EventsMay 14, 2012