Metroplus » Society

Updated: March 5, 2014 19:18 IST

I am... P. Ajith Kumar

Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
P. Ajith Kumar. Photo: T. Saravanan
The Hindu
P. Ajith Kumar. Photo: T. Saravanan

I dropped out of school after the 10th grade. My father P. Pandi is a labourer at a rice mill near Anupanadi and my mother Karpagavalli is a home-maker. I have an elder brother and a sister who work in grocery shops in Madurai. Initially, I worked at a pani puri stall near our home. I earned around Rs.3,000 per month and it wasn’t sufficient to support the family. The stall owner taught me to chop vegetables uniformly. I used to chop five kilos of carrot and onion everyday.

I joined Chappathi Park restaurant two years ago. I am 19 years old now and I have picked up the art of cooking. Yet, I never cook at home. My work timings are from noon to midnight. I earn Rs.7,000 now and I am trying to save some money to buy a moped to commute to work. Everyday, I attend to hundreds of orders and make different varieties of noodles, fried rice, chinese manchurian and other Indian fast food items such as paneer roll and mushroom chapati. I learnt to cook Chinese fast food from Sonai, who was highly experienced. As a kid, I dreamt of studying catering and working in star hotels abroad. I used to watch the cookery shows on TV and fantasised cooking gourmet meals. But I couldn’t afford to study further as I had to work to enhance my family income.

Nevertheless, I feel happy that I am doing what I always wanted to. Customers have come to praise my cooking and the rolls I prepare have become popular among the office goers.

(A fortnightly column on men and women who make Madurai what it is)

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor



Recent Article in Society

Archana Pillai R.

Cityzen: Of notes, friends, parents and confidence

ARCHANA PILLAI R. ,ENT Surgeon, 35 What is your most prized possession? My dad's handwri... »