What it is about…

Porus Cinemas’ Naan Ponnondru Kandein is written and directed by Sanjeev Srinivas. A ruffian is in love with a beautiful girl but doesn’t want to reveal it to her. Does she ever get to know about this? The cast comprises newcomers Ashwin Raj, Vidharsha, Yukthivel, ‘Peyakka’ Meena, Theni Murugan and ‘Kadhal’ Kamachi. The cinematography is by Sabeer Ali Khan, the stunts are by Jesudas, the art is by Anand and the music is by Azhagar Ponraj. The first audio CD of the film was released by actor Vijayakumar in the presence of actors Power Star Srinivasan, Maanu and Swarnamalya.

What they say…

Producer Prem Kallat: I am a businessman with a deep interest in cinema. Along with my son Prince Kallat, I wanted to produce a movie and when Sanjeev Srinivas came with a good storyline, I asked him to do the detailed screenplay. He wrote an arresting script, which made me say yes to the film.

Director Sanjeev Srinivas: I am basically a dancer and have worked with almost all the dance masters, including Shivshankar, Lawrence and Prabhu Deva, in the South. I have done the choreography for nearly 40 films. I was biding my time to become a director. I have introduced 72 new faces in this film.

Hero Ashwin Raj: I am an athlete and have won a lot of medals while at college. It was my dream to enter films. I started as a group dancer under Sanjeev Srinivas. Then when he turned director and cast me in the lead role, I couldn’t thank him enough for the opportunity.

Music director Azhagar Ponraj: I have cut four albums and scored the music for two TV serials. My first film was Yugam and this is my second. I am scoring the music for two more films. The director has given me enough scope to showcase my skills in re-recording. A song on MGR will be a highlight of this album and I am sure it will become a youth anthem.

Music highlights: The album has five songs of which four are written by Krithiya and one, ‘Idhu Enna Mayakkam,’ by Nalankilli. ‘Idhu enna,’ sung by Benny Dayal, is enjoyable. ‘Puratchi Thalaivarada,’ sung by Sam, serves as a tribute to the legendary MGR, stringing together the titles of his various films. ‘Maya vanamo’ follows in Harish Ragavendra’s mellow voice. ‘Othaiya Rettaiya,’ sung by Sangeetha, will make you reach for the rewind button. ‘Adiye Enna’ sung by S.P. Charan, wraps up the album on a peppy note.