Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social
SEARCH

Features » Sunday Magazine

Updated: November 2, 2013 21:05 IST

Enchanted Geography #15: The Tulsi In My Own Courtyard

Share  ·   Comment   ·   print   ·  

Sarnath Banerjee studied Biochemistry and still harbours a faint desire to produce a graphic version of Darwin’s The Origin of Species. He is the author of the graphic novels Corridor, The Barn Owl’s Wondrous Capers and The Harappa Files.

About 10 years ago in his graphic novel Corridor, Sarnath Banerjee developed the character of Brighu – a restless investigator of the ordinary in the tradition of Fernando Pessoa, Charles Baudelaire and Khalifa Harun al-Rashid. Brighu has recently been brought back from his Rambo-like seclusion to feature in a series of image- and text-based essays on the enchanted geography of Berlin, which is poised to become the next big Welstadt: a world city of great economic, political and cultural influence.

Click here for a .pdf of Episode #15

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Amandeep Sandhu, Manjul Bajaj, Manu Joseph and Sonora Jha read from their novels that were shortlisted for The Hindu Prize for Fiction 2013. Ziya Us Salam introduces them and moderates the session. <... »


O
P
E
N

close

Recent Article in Sunday Magazine

Stratford's tradition of the Bard's birthday celebrations brings together residents and visitors from across the world.

All the world’s a stage

William Shakespeare has gone from being British treasure to international phenomenon. The world observes his 450th birth anniversary on April 23. »