Dramanon, Hyderabad, conducted a competition of short skits for theatre groups in the city. This provided a platform for aspiring groups, actors, writers and production teams to showcase their talent. The unique concept, drew immense interest and response for the second year in a row. Twenty two teams which included first timers and regular theatre groups participated in the competition at Indira Priyadarshini Auditorium. Of the contesting teams, six were selected by the jury for the final round to be held on the September 7at the same venue. Four wild card entries were also selected two of which will go into the finals.

Each team was given 12 minutes time to perform on stage, with 2 minutes to set up their properties and sets on the stage and evacuate in 1 min after the play ends to enable the next group to perform. Understanding the time frame and managing the coordination needed for it proved a challenge , especially for newcomers. The plays were in Hindi and English.

Apart from the regular theatre groups and amateurs who participated in the contest, one was delighted to see the group ‘Little masters’ represented by Shankar Melkote, B.S.Prakash and Vijay Marur , all veteran theatre artistes of Hyderabad, taking part in the contest, once again this year. They got the deserved standing ovation for their performance and were nominated as a wild card entry probable for the finals.

The selection procedure was based on the points given by the jury and also through the audience poll by which the six teams and the wild card entry was selected. The skits were selected on the basis of story content, acting abilities, direction and technical aspects of the performance. The jury comprised theatre personalities Bhasker Shewalker of Rangadhara, Vinay Varma from Suthradhar, Ratna Shekar Reddy from Samahaara, Feroze from Sifar, Mala Pasha from Torn curtains and Vaishali Bisht.

The six plays going to the finals were Praja Nahin Nagarik Hain Hum by Koshish theatre, Mudra by Sequel, The DMV One by Manch, Ammi Bane Mother in law by Kaalpanik, Mrs.Meenakshi Iyer by Break A Leg, Tamilian Mismatch and Marital Twist by Rang Manch, along with four wild card entries.