Eminent Sarod player Rajiv Taranath of Mysore has been selected for this year’s Pandit Basavaraj Rajguru National Award, instituted by the Pandit Basavaraj Rajguru National Memorial Trust, Dharwad.

The Hindustani classical vocalists Kaushik Aithal of Bangalore and tabla player Anubrata Chatterjee of Kolkata have been chosen for the Young Artiste award. Mr. Taranath will get a purse of Rs. 1 lakh and a citation, while Mr. Aithal and Mr. Kaushik will be presented a purse of Rs. 25,000 each. The award will be given away at a function to be held at Srijana auditorium here on August 24, the trust chairman Chandrakant Bellad told the press persons here on Sunday.