The Executive Committee of the Music Academy will honour vocalist Trichur V. Ramachandran with the ‘Sangita Kalanidhi’ title during their 86 annual conference to be held from December 15 to January 1, 2013. The title will be conferred on the musician during the Sadas which is to take place on January 1, 2013. The following is the list of other artists to be honoured on the occasion.

Sangita Kala Acharya: Tiruchi J. Venkataraman and T. Rukmani (violinist).

T.T.K. Awards: Mullapudi Sriramamurthy (mridangam) and K.S. Raghunathan (musician and recording expert).

Musicologist Award: Dr. Ritha Rajan.

The Pappa Venkataramiah award for violin is being given to Lalitha Raghavan.

The Natya Kala Acharya Award for Dance, instituted last year, will be conferred on Dr. Sudharani Raghupaty, Bharatanatyam exponent. The veteran will be honoured with the award at the inaugural function of the dance festival on January 3, 2013.


Epitome of GurubhaktiNovember 30, 2012