The Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), New Delhi, has invited applications for the Combined Biotechnology Entrance Examinations for admission to M.Sc. (biotechnology), M.Sc. (agriculture), M.V.Sc. (biotechnology) and M.Tech. (biotechnology) programmes offered by various universities in India. On behalf of the participating universities, JNU will hold the national-level entrance test on May 20 at 52 centres .

M.Sc. (biotechnology)

The participating universities that offer the M.Sc. (biotechnology) course are—University of Allahabad, Annamalai University, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Calicut University, Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore, Goa University, Gulbarga University, Guru Jambheshwar University of Science and Technology, Hissar, Gurunanak Dev University, Amritsar, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla, HNB Garhwal University, University of Hyderabad, University of Jammu, JNU, New Delhi, Kumauon University, Nainital, University of Lucknow, MS University of Baroda, Madurai Kamaraj University, University of Mysore, University of North Bengal, Siliguri, Pondicheery University, University of Pune, RTM Nagpur University, Sadar Patel University, Gujarat, Tezpur University, T.M. Bagalpur University, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Jaunpur, and Visva Bharati University, Santhiniketan.

Eligibility: Bachelor's degree under 10+2+3/4/5 pattern of education in physical, biological, agricultural, veterinary and fishery science, pharmacy, engineering/ technology, B.Sc. (physician assistance course) or MBBS/ BDS with at least 55 per cent marks. Those who have passed the qualifying examination in 2008 or 2009 or who are appearing in 2010 are eligible to apply.

M.Sc.(Agri) Biotechnology

Eligibility: Bachelor's degree under 10+2+3/4/5 pattern of education with at least 55 per cent marks in the concerned subjects shown here under against each participating university.

Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar: Graduates in veterinary sciences and animal husbandry (B.V.Sc. and AH).

Sarwan Kumar HP Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Palampur: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture or forestry.

GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pant Nagar: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture, forestry, B.V.Sc. & AH, B.Sc. degree in zoology, botany, chemistry, physics, mathematics, biotechnology.

Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Raipur: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, botechnology (agriculture), horticulture or forestry.

Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyayala, Jabalpur: B.V.Sc. & AH.

Kerala Agricultural University, Mannuthy, Thrissur: B.Sc. degree (agriculture, horticulture or forestry)

Marathwada Agricultural University, Parbhani, (Maharashtra): B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture, or forestry.

Orissa University of Agriculture Technology, Bhubaneswar: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture or forestry.

Tamil Nadu Agriculture University, Coimbatore: B.Sc. agriculture, horticulture, forestry or B.Tech. (biotech), B.Tech. (horticulture).

University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bangalore: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture, forestry or sericulture.

University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad: B.Sc. degree in agriculture, horticulture and forestry or B.Sc. in agricultural biotechnology.

Rajendra Agricultural University, Bihar: B.Sc. degree in biotechnology/ agriculture / horticulture. Candidates with B.Sc. degree in biology will have to spend three years for completion of their M.Sc. degree programmes. Only those who have passed the qualifying examination in 2008, 2009 and those who are appearing in 2010 are eligible to apply.


This programme is offered at Anna University, Chennai, Cusat, Kochi, West Bengal University of Technology, Kolkata.

Eligibility: Minimum 60 per cent marks in B.Tech./BE in chemical engineering/ biochemical engineering, industrial biotechnology, leather technology, chemistry / biotechnology, biomedical engineering; B.Pharm. or M.Sc. degree in biotechnology, life sciences, botany, zoology, biochemistry, microbiology, genetics, biophysics, microbial genetics and bioinformatics. For Anna University, candidates with B.Tech. /BE in electro chemistry, bioengineering or M.Sc. in chemistry or physics are also eligible to apply. For CUSAT, Kochi, candidates with M.Sc. degree in marine biotechnology, marine biology / aquatic biology and fisheries, environmental biotechnology are also eligible.

Application forms and prospectus can be obtained from any of the participating universities on payment of Rs.200. Candidates should send a requisition letter along with a demand draft of Rs.260 drawn in favour of Jawaharlal Nehru University payable at New Delhi and a self-addressed unstamped envelope (of the size 30x25 cm) indicating the name of programme for which application form is required, to the Section Officer (admissions), room no.28, administrative block, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi–110067 so as to reach the addressee on or before March 5. Last date for receipt of completed applications is March 15. For more details visit the website