Ved Prakash, serving as acting chairman of the University Grants Commission, has been appointed as its chairman.

The appointment, made on January 18, 2013 came after the government had set up afresh a search-cum-selection committee last September for shortlisting a candidate for the post, sources said.

The contenders for the top post included India’s chief statistician T.C.A. Anant and Tata Institute of Social Sciences chief S. Parasuraman, they said.

The chairman’s post remained vacant ever since S. Thorat retired in February 2011. Since then Mr. Prakash had been the acting chairman.