The second edition of SCRIPT 2012 (Social & Corporate Responsibility International Promotional Theater), an international short film festival, will be held at Kerala Fine Arts Hall, on January 20 and 21.

Films, 57 of them, shortlisted by a preliminary jury from over 420 entries, will be screened in five specific categories, namely Filmmakers, International, Students, Documentaries and Mini Films. There will be separate screenings, awards and cash prizes for each category.

In addition to this competitive section there are ‘Showcase Films' from eminent film makers like Sanjeev Shivan, Avijit Mukul Kishore, Aparna Sanyal, etc.

The screenings will begin at 8.45 a.m.on both days. Entry to the festival is free but delegates need to register.

SCRIPT 2012 is an initiative of Rotary International District 3201 and is organised by the Rotary Club of Cochin Metropolis.

This year's festival will comprise works of some of the best short filmmakers in the world. In the international section films from Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Iran, Pakistan, Japan, Norway, and USA will be screened. And in the Students section there are entries from Centre for Media and Cultural Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad, and Satyajit Ray Film Institute, Kolkata. More than 60 filmmakers from India and abroad are expected to participate in the festival.

Actor-director Revathy Menon will head a five-member jury that includes Beena Paul (Film Editor), Sophy V. Sivaraman (Executive Director, Indian Documentary Foundation), Vivek Mohan (Director-Scriptwriter) and Jose Dominic (Hotelier).

Adoor Gopalakrishnan will present the awards at a special function slated to be held at Hotel Casino on January 21.

For a detailed schedule of film screenings log on to Dr. G. N. Ramesh is the Festival Director and can be contacted on 984034787.