Six persons from different parts of the country were declared winners of the first ever “T20 of Indian Cinema” competition launched by the Entertainment Society of Goa (ESG), co-host of the International Film Festival of India, in commemoration of IFFI-2009.

After collating data received from participants across the country, 20 choices from each of the 10 contemporary directors and 10 prominent film critics who were the jury were merged to arrive at a “Master Choice” list of 20 top films. Six participants whose choices matched this list were declared winners at a function held at the IFFI venue on Monday evening.

The winners

The results were announced by ESG chief executive officer Manoj Srivatsava. Only two of the winners, Manish Agarwal and Ram Kishen Adig, both from Jaipur, could make it to the presentation ceremony presided over by Chief Minister Digambar Kamat.

The others who got the selection right are Pranesh V. Managoli (Nagpur), Anita H. Baltilak (Akola, Nagpur), Sidharth Prakash (Bangalore) and Sucheta Jalawadi (Belgaum).

With over 1.9 million responses to the competition, the top 20 films listed by the jury are: Meghe Dhaka Tara, Charulata, Sholay, Do Bhiga Zamin, Pyasa, Bhuvan Shome, Garam Hawa, Mother India, Ghatashraddha, Elipathayam, Mughal-e-Azam, Nayagan, Kagaz ke Phool, Pather Panchali, Sant Tukaram, Jane Bhi Do Yaro, Guide, Madhumati, and Anand.

“The T20 was not only a promotional event but a way of exploring the country’s rich cinema,” Mr. Srivatsava said.