What it is about…

Radian E Media and Y Not Studios jointly present Vaayai Moodi Pesavum, a socio-political satire. Produced by Varun Manian in association with S. Sashikanth and written and directed by Balaji Mohan, the film features Dulquer Salman, Nazriya, Madubala, Pandiyarajan, Vinu Chakravarthi and Robo Shankar. The music is scored by Sean Roldan. The audio was released by Mani Ratnam and received by Rana Daggubati.

What they say

Producer Varun Manian: I am from the real estate field with a passion for films. When Y Not Studios Sasikanth brought director Balaji Mohan to me, I heard his narration and got interested in the project. The film has comedy, sentiment and all the necessary ingredients to click at the box office.

Director Balaji Mohan: After my Kadhalil Sodhappuvadhu Yeppadi, I took time to script a neat comedy. The highlight of Vaayai Moodi Pesavum is its narration. It’s needless to say that Dulquer, Nazriya and Madhubala have all worked hard to make my dream come true.

Hero Dulquer: I have done 10 films in Malayalam and this is my first in Tamil. When I told my father Mammootty that I was doing a Tamil movie he was happy and blessed me. The story of Vaayai Moodi Pesavum is good and I am happy to be part of it.

Music director Sean Roldan: I am the grandson of Chandilyan, noted Tamil writer of historical fiction. His daughter, my mother Padma Chandilyan is also a Carnatic vocalist. I learnt music from her from a tender age. I am a student of vocalist Sanjay Subramaniam. I am working with some of the known names in the film industry. I got to score the music of Vaayai Moodi Pesavum at short notice. I was given just three days to compose the songs and record them, as the cast and the crew were going out of the city to shoot the songs. I am glad I was able to deliver it to their satisfaction. Now I have finished the re-recording and it has come out well.

Music Highlights: Composer Sean Roldan has tried to give different kinds of songs and also succeeded in it. ‘Shut up! Vaaya Moodu! Pesadhe!’ is an entertaining pop number sung by Sean and the director who has also written it. ‘Kadhal Ara Onnu Vizhundhuchu’ is a rock number written by Muthamil sung by Sean and Sakthisree Gopalan. ‘Mr. Fix-IT’ is an instrumental piece by Chennai Strings. Singer Haricharan is in fine form in ‘Podhum Nee Ini Varundhadhe.’ Written by Muthamil, this retro track has Chennai Strings performing brilliantly. ‘Udaigiren Udaigiren,’ written by Karky and sung well by Alaap Raju and the Madras String Quartet, is a ballad that conveys the agony of a person in love. ‘Beedhiya Kelappa’ is a Jazz instrumental theme with sax by Maarten Visser and percussion by Praveen Sparsh. ‘The Sound of Silence’ is a dub step symphony by the Chennai Strings — a repeat-worthy track. The last on the album is ‘Maatraparavai’ written by Karky and sung by Pradeep, Kalyani Nair and the Madras String Quartet. Here the composer uses the drums by David Joseph to good effect.