SEARCH

Cinema Plus » Reviews

Updated: January 10, 2014 17:08 IST

1-Nenokkadine: Games the mind can play

Sangeetha Devi Dundoo
Comment (31)   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Mahesh Babu and Kriti Sanon in the psychological thriller
Mahesh Babu and Kriti Sanon in the psychological thriller

He is a rock star and a troubled one at that. Amidst performing to a roaring audience, he senses the presence of one of his parents’ killers gunning for his life, chases him down, finishes him off and surrenders to the police. The world around him is stunned to discover the hitherto unknown facet of the rock star. Meanwhile, a video footage shot by a television reporter reveals the truth — the rock star was fighting an imaginary opponent. It appears that he suffers from a psychological condition termed Interpretation Disorder, which blurs his capability of differentiating reality and imagination.

Director Sukumar’s 1 is not a film one can watch passively. Soon after the fantastically picturised opening song ‘Who are you?’, he draws you into the thriller mode only to tell you it’s not going to be a linear story. How often do we get to watch a Telugu film where the audience, along with the protagonist and supporting characters, is also required to think and distinguish between events unfolding in real and imaginary spaces? The television reporter Sameera (debutante Kriti Sanon) sniffs a TRP-friendly story and trails Gautam (a leaner, fitter Mahesh Babu) as he retreats to a luxury cocoon in Goa.

Rathnavelu’s roving camera rarely comes to a halt, just like its protagonist, searching for answers across surreal, low-lit streets, exotic beaches, and the cold, grey streets of London. Gautam, meanwhile, is at the risk of injuring himself and anyone around him as his mind refuses to stop playing tricks on him.

Habitual to watching films that begin with a great premise only to fall into the commercial trap of force-fit comic situations, it comes as a relief when Sukumar laces the psychological thriller with subtle wit that never takes the focus away from the plot. A few eye-popping sequences raise the bar for action in Telugu cinema, with well-choreographed stunts helped by good cinematography, editing, visual effects and background score. But once the dots begin to connect and a few plot points become easier to guess, the drama tends to drag and one wonders if the conflict between what’s real and imaginary has been stretched too far. With a run time of a little less than three hours, the film can test a viewer’s patience.

This isn’t your regular paisa vasool, masala cinema and may not be everyone’s cup of tea. If you’re willing to invest some patience and soak in the mood of a film that attempts to appeal to an audience that’s used to watching global cinema, 1 will not disappoint. In this visually stunning film, Mahesh Babu delivers his career-best performance. His son Gautam makes a debut through a cameo and appears at ease in front of the camera. As a surprise there’s Devi Sri Prasad’s background score that’s so different from his regular fare. He’s been given the chance to push the envelope and boy, he does it so well.

1-NENOKKADINE

Cast: Mahesh Babu and Kriti Sanon

Direction: Sukumar

Genre: Psychological thriller

Bottom line: A well-intended attempt to raise the bar for Telugu cinema that falls short.

superb movie never seen ever 3-4 time watchable prince and little prince superb acting climax is superb full movie songs all credit gos to sukumar and mahesh all team

from:  shivu
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 11:20 IST

A difficult story to tell and a complex idea to plant...I left Inception after first Half and saw the movie 15times same with momento and Prestige.Nolan of tollywood is SUKUMAR and de carpio is Mahesh babu versatile...!!

from:  Ejaz Ahmed
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 11:18 IST

It's beyond our regular tollywood movie .....

Excellent Screen-play , direction , action and music,,,,,,


We should improve our own taste......

from:  srikanth Kolli
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 11:14 IST

Nothing Fell short..Definitely raised the Bar for TFI..Outstanding
Performance by Mahesh..never seen b4 DOP by ratnavelu..SukU simply
stupendous job..Since it is a Telugu Film,just bcoz to make it
commercial item song was placed..thats it thats the only flaw i could
say..mILES Better than regular telugu movie..worth watching twice r
thrice..

from:  kartheek
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 11:13 IST

movie is really innovative. a turning point in the history of telugu film industry. efforts never fail. i thank the entire team of 1 movie for introducing this movie with much effort :-)

from:  lakshmi tulasi
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 10:42 IST

Superb Movie .... Outstanding Effort by Mahesh and Team.... Killing
villain in Bathroom is highlight of the Movie ....

from:  Phani
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 08:14 IST

The best movie I have ever seen, our audience and author were in an impression to have 4 fights, 4 songs, 4 comedy seens in every Telugu film, so this is a different one inline with telling a good story of a person but people has to change their thinking, entertainment is only thing that our people see. It was an excellent move that I had never seen in the recent times.

from:  kiran
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 04:55 IST

Hi Friends, Its a new trend set movie in Tollywood. very good
photography, screenplay, stunning Mahesh performance. hats off to
Sukumar thought,direction and Rathnavelu effects.

from:  Surender Reddy N
Posted on: Jan 13, 2014 at 02:53 IST

It's a trailblazer in introducing psychological thrillers to Telugu audience.Great attempt, with amazing screenplay, impressive background score, slick photography and excellent direction and Mahesh's best performance so far. On the downside, length of the movie in second half and unnecessary songs would test your patience. Removing a 30 mins length with clever re-editing could make this movie much more appealing.

from:  krishna
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 23:15 IST

one of the excellent movies i had ever seen! really telugu industry
require these kind of movies.mahesh had did the right thing by selecting
this please watch this movie and encourage. put an end to those
regular comedy movies

from:  lokesh
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 18:16 IST

Screenplay is awesome. Mahesh acting superb & Sukumar direction
Excellent.

from:  Vasanth Dola
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 17:24 IST

I loved every min, awesome movie for those who love hollywood thriller
flicks!!

from:  Ravi
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 13:40 IST

wow it was awesome..i like it.Who say's it is flop.its new story thats why a bit confusing , so plz pay 100% concentration u will understand the movie.

from:  SREEKAR
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 09:53 IST

Nice Analysis of Movie;

from:  s vijayakumar
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 08:49 IST

One of the best movies of a kind in the telugu cinema..extent of
changing the genre of regular mass masala bringing TFI to global
viewing..Relations, actions, emotions and all blended to the bestest
with fabulous approach making it an awesome viewing...Mahesh at his best
as an actor and proved very loving in accepting such role in his
career..

from:  Sarath
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 08:40 IST

I am a Tamilian but still enjoyed movie with my friends..Appreciate MB
for his bold attempt in choosing the character! I felt some scenes are
draggy but overall enjoyed the movie completely. It's definitely a trend
setter for our cinemas. Can hear talks on remake rights already ;)

from:  Sugan
Posted on: Jan 12, 2014 at 07:38 IST

Before starting, i just want to say the movie is of a completely different genre which any Tollywood star would not dare to act. The movie is not an entertainment but for an experience. Certainly the movie has raised the bar by a lot with this movie. Agreed there were few hiccups, but still i could not stop from appreciating the team for this movie. Commendable job by Mahesh, DSP, Sukumar.

from:  Chaitanya
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 23:39 IST

I loved Mahesh for his initial Bunch of Movies till Pokiri and to an
extent Khaleja. And this movie is really taking me back to that mode,
Love u dude. And No word or compliment id good enough for praising
Sukumar for making this movie with such an intelligent script. My Most
favourite Mahesh's movie(Replacing Takkaridonga)

P.S The unsung ACTOR here is Nazar who has put in an excellent, over the
top and yet an entertaining performance.

from:  Hemanth Kumar
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 22:54 IST

Mahesh babu at his best, we always talk about freshness in story line , here is '1' which answers those. hats off for taking initiation in raising telugu cinema bar to holly wood level.

from:  Krishna Santosh Pujari
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 21:21 IST

Best movie in telugu till date. Performance of mahesh and screenplay are
mind blowing..

from:  rajiv
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 14:12 IST

wonderful movie that i had never seen
mahesh and kriti sanon well played their roles

from:  sandeep
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 12:18 IST

Undoubtedly the movie is a test to the intelligence of the viewer, one
has to applaud the director for this,because he rose the standards of
the telugu audience who are hitherto accustomed to illogical movies
with item numbers, and it must be understood in this context, that the
director had the guts of making such a movie, and the actor, who of
course is one of the stars in the industry made an audacious attempt
in the wake of intense competition.Mahesh babu, his performance was
superb,you got to give credit to him, because the story demands a lot
from the actor, and the way he acted showed that he had a complete
understanding of the script and really this movie has brought the best
out of him,and with this movie definitely mahesh babu will be featured
as one of the best actors of indian cinema.The cameraman was
immaculate, only -ve of the movie was kriti sanon,barely had she shown
an expression, because the movie had scope for heroine, the director
could have gone with someone else.

from:  saketh
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 12:13 IST

If people comment that Telugu industry has to come with different
genre films and stars like Mahesh has to encourage, One nenokkadine is
an answer.
Agreed to the point that it's not regular masala movie. But ultimately
movie has to entertain with the script, plot, star cast, supporting
fields (Like Cinematography, music, action sequences) in the set time.
In that context, i feel raised the standards of telugu film.
Its definately a different movie for Telugu audience and a worth watch
for every one.
Thanks and congratulations for spell bounding effort for Entire One
cast and crew. I can to see versatality too in Tollywood nowadays.

from:  Sravan
Posted on: Jan 11, 2014 at 09:48 IST

i watched movie with my 8 friends and i m the only one who liked
it....we should appriciate PRINCE MB for choosing this story...

from:  nikhil
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 23:57 IST

finally watched the movie its really really awesome maheshbabu dancing
was like mind blowing was totally hooked to the movie

from:  kalyani
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 23:45 IST

Eloquent . Elegant. Ultra-modern. Stylish. Passionate. Powerful.
Rhetoric.
Undisputedly the most progressing film of our generation. 4-5 years down
the lane, it will be called a cult.

from:  Santhosh
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 23:27 IST

1 has by far raised the hope that we could make movies at Hollywood
level and thinking. Though there were minor glitches apart from that I
was completely immersed into the movie....it was a good experience

from:  Rohith
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 22:40 IST

Overall you can watch it. People expect to much and also there is not
clarity in their expectancy(if you have then you can direct a movie.
All the best :-) ).

I am pleased with Mahesh Babu performance, DSP music and Sukumar
direction. High expectations are hurting this film badly.

I hope it wont effect telugu film industry experiment film producers.

Overall good job by Mahesh Babu :-)

from:  Rajesh Daggupati
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 21:54 IST

Worth watching movie, appreciate all the crew members of 1 for making such a wonderful
movie.

from:  Venu
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 21:09 IST

Only problem with movie is making it as tollywood movie.. Other than
that evry thing else is awsomiest awsome.... if any body dont like this
movie there could be only one reason, that they might be Dumbest in the
world..

from:  rajesh
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 20:07 IST

Great review!!! Could totally relate to the review. But considering the
talk that has come out, we are in no way near to accepting any film that
does not have the routine slapstick content in them. SAD!!

from:  nithin
Posted on: Jan 10, 2014 at 17:38 IST
Show all comments
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
More »
More »
More »
More »

Group Sites
The Hindu தி இந்து Business Line Sportstar Frontline The Hindu Centre The Hindu Hub Images Classifieds RoofandFloor

O
P
E
N

close

Recent Article in Reviews

A scene from Meaghamann

Meaghamann: A pretty decent action-adventure

A young drug cartel employee named Siva is shown to be a bad shot — such a bad shot that he misses even the outermost circle of the targ... »