The Neyveli Lignite Corporation has signed an agreement with the Karnataka government to share 400 MW of electricity from the proposed Sirkali Thermal Power Project (STPP).

A statement from the NLC stated that the agreement was signed by the NLC and Karnataka government officials in the presence of Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa and Power Minister Shobha Karandlaje in Bangalore on Tuesday.

The STPP would be a super critical coal based 1,980-MW (3 x 660 MW) thermal power project to be established at an estimated cost of Rs 10,395 crore.

The project is expected to go on stream in 2016-2017.

The power generated from the project would be shared by Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Allocation of power

The allocation of power from the project would be in accordance with the decision of the Union Ministry of Power.

The first unit was expected to achieve commercial operation in 52 months from the date of Centre's sanction, and the subsequent units in six months intervals.

The tariff, terms and conditions of the power supply would be determined by the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission.

Jetty proposed

For handling the imported coal a jetty would be set up at the project site.

Those who participated on the occasion included K. Palpandy, Chief General Manager, Thermal Power Station—II and Expansion, and S.K. Acharya, Director (Personnel), NLC.


NLC inks pact with VIT December 4, 2010

New director for Neyveli Lignite CorporationDecember 17, 2010

Residents protest NLC actionDecember 26, 2010