The Union Ministry of Textiles has reconstituted its Textiles Committee.

T. Kannan, Managing Director of Thiagaraja Mills, Madurai, will be the new Chairman. The re-constituted committee includes Senthil Kumar of BKS Textiles, Palladam; M. Ramaswamy of Warsaw International, Tirupur; Sanjay Jayvarthanavelu of Lakshmi Machine Works, Coimbatore; Britto Joseph of Madurai; Ajay Himatsingka, chairman, Himatsingka Seide; S.P. Oswal, CMD, Vardhaman Textile Limited; and Vijay Aggarwal, Creative Garment, Mumbai.

The other members are the Secretary-General of the Confederation of Indian Industry, the chairpersons of the Confederation of Indian Textiles Industry, the Southern India Mills Association, the Cotton Textile Promotion Council, the Synthetic and Rayon Textile Export Promotion Council, the Apparel Export Promotion Council, the Northern India Textile Mills Association, the Indian Powerloom Federation and the Wool and Woolen Export Promotion Council.

The presidents of the Textile Machinery Manufacturers Association and the Federation of Indian Art Silk Weaving Industry and the Director of Northern India Textile Research Association are also part of the new 28-member committee, along with the Joint Secretary and Director (Internal Finance) of the Textiles Ministry. Textile Commissioner A.B. Joshi will be the vice-chairman.