Harun Rashid Khan takes over as RBI Deputy Governor


Harun Rashid Khan on Monday assumed charge as Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India for a period of three years.

Mr. Khan replaces Shyamala Gopinath who retired last month, RBI said in a statement.

As one of the deputy governors of the apex bank, Mr. Khan will look after the Central Security Cell, Department of External Investments and Operations, Department of Government and Bank Accounts, Department of Payment and Settlement Systems, Foreign Exchange Department, Internal Debt Management Department and Inspection Department.

Prior to this appointment, Mr. Khan was Executive Director of RBI.

He had served in that position since October 2007 and looked after the Department of External Investments and Operations, Foreign Exchange Department, Internal Debt Management Department and Department of Government and Bank Accounts.

He was earlier Regional Director of RBI’s New Delhi Office and and had also served as Principal of the College of Agricultural Banking in Pune.

With a career spanning over 32 years, Mr. Khan had worked in diverse fields of specialisation like rural credit, currency management, banking supervision and regulation, debt management, reserve management, exchange control, personnel administration and internal accounts.

Mr. Khan has also been associated with number of committees both within and outside the RBI, including Committee on Technology Exports, Committee on Ways and Means Advances to the State Governments, Working Group on Instruments of Sterilisation and International Task Force on Central Counter-parties.

He also chaired the internal group of RBI on Rural Credit and Microfinance.

Based on the recommendations of that committee, known as the Khan Committee, the RBI had issued guidelines to expand the banking outreach through business facilitators and business correspondents with information and communication technology support for spearheading financial inclusion in the country.

Khan was also earlier the nominee director of RBI on the boards of Dena Bank, Bank of Maharashtra, Punjab and Sind Bank, Bank of Rajasthan and the Orissa State Finance Corporation.

The RBI has four deputy governors looking after various departments.

In his latest position, Mr. Khan joins Subir Gokarn, K.C. Chakrabarty and Anand Sinha who also serve as deputy governors of the central bank.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2017 10:10:06 AM |