Our distinguished panel of judges who will decide the shortlist and the winner

Mridula Garg

Mridula Garg does not adhere to any tradition: Marxist, feminist or region specific. Some of for her works are Chittacobra, Anitya, Halfway to Nowhere, Country of Goodbyes (in English translation) and Miljul Man (Hindi). She has written seven novels, 82 short stories, three plays, four collections of essays and a travel memoir. Among her various awards are Vyas Samman for Kathgulab in 2004 as an outstanding Hindi literary work of the last decade and Hellman-Hammet Grant from Human Rights Watch, New York.

Tabish Khair

Born in Ranchi and educated mostly in Gaya (Bihar), Tabish Khair is the author of a number of critically-acclaimed studies, poetry collections and novels. Winner of the All India Poetry Prize, Khair’s novels have been short-listed for the Encore Award (U.K.), Vodafone Crossword Award (India), Hindu Best Fiction Prize (India), Man Asian Literature Prize (Hong Kong). He has been awarded academic fellowships/scholarships at Cambridge, Delhi, Copenhagen and Aarhus. His most recent works are Man of Glass (poems 2010), The Thing about Thugs (novel 2010) and the co-authored study, Reading Literature Today (2011).


Poet, critic, editor and translator K. Satchidanandan was Professor of English at Christ College, University of Calicut, Kerala and editor of Indian Literature, the journal of the Sahitya Akademi and later its Chief Executive. He retired as Director and Professor, School of Translation Studies and Training, IGNOU, Delhi. He has published 21 collections of poetry, 16 collections of world poetry in translation and 23 collections of critical essays, travelogues and interviews, two plays all in Malayalam. Apart from this, four collections of critical essays in English and several works in Malayalam, English and Hindi were edited by him. He has won 24 awards for his literary contributions. He is a Fellow of the Kerala Sahitya Academy and an activist for secularism, environment and human rights. A film on him, Summer Rain was released in 2007.

Pavan K. Varma

Writer-diplomat Pavan K. Varma has held several crucial posts in the Government of India including Press Secretary to the President of India, the Spokesman of the Ministry of External Affairs, High Commissioner to Cyprus and Director of The Nehru Centre in London. Currently, he is Ambassador of India to Bhutan. Apart from his diplomatic career, he is the author of over a dozen books including The Great Indian Middle Class and Being Indian. His latest book, Becoming Indian: The Unfinished Revolution of Culture and Identity, deals with the pivotal issues of culture and identity for postcolonial societies. His first work of fiction When Loss is Gain is to be published shortly. He was conferred an honorary doctoral degree for his contribution to the fields of diplomacy, literature, culture and aesthetics by the University of Indianapolis in 2005.

Brinda Bose

Studied English Literature at Presidency College, Calcutta; the University of Oxford and Boston University. She is currently Associate Professor of English at the University of Delhi. She was a Fellow of the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, New Delhi, from 2006-09. Her areas of research are gender, culture and higher education in South Asia, and modern and postcolonial literatures. Her publications include Amitav Ghosh: Critical Perspectives, Translating Desire and Gender and Censorship (edited); Interventions and The Phobic and the Erotic (co-edited). She is the secretary of the Indian Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies (IACLALS) and co-director of the margHumanities project, a global-local initiative for a radical reinvention of the arts/humanities in academia.

More In: Books