Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005

New Delhi
News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment |

New Delhi Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Delimitation panel accepts NCP's proposals

Sujay Mehdudia

Intra-party feuds prevent Congress, BJP from putting forward their proposals on redrawing Lok Sabha constituencies

  • Outer Delhi and East Delhi constituencies proposed to be broken up
  • Stalemate persists in Cong., BJP over a handful of Assembly segments

    NEW DELHI: Infighting within the ruling Congress and the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party has resulted in their failure to submit their proposals to the Delimitation Commission for the seven Parliamentary constituencies of Delhi. As a result, the Commission is understood to have accepted in principle the proposals submitted by the Nationalist Congress Party representative, Ramvir Singh Bidhuri.

    Mr. Bidhuri, who is also an associate member of the Delimitation Commission from Delhi, had submitted his proposals to the Commission headed by Justice Kuldip Singh, satisfying the test of geographical features, compactness and population criteria. Surprisingly the Congress and the BJP failed to submit their proposals. It is learnt that sharp differences have cropped up over the manner in which the new Parliamentary constituencies had been drawn up at the party level. Some senior Congress leaders including sitting MPs Jagdish Tytler, Kapil Sibal and Ajay Maken had discussed the issue at a party meeting last week but could not come to a conclusion.

    A stalemate persists as to under which Parliamentary constituency a handful of Assembly segments should be placed. This had led to the Congress leaders failing to agree on one firm proposal for all the seven constituencies and it was decided that they would take up the matter only after the Commission comes out with its proposals. As for the BJP, its representative and South Delhi MP, Vijay Kumar Malhotra, failed to turn up for the meeting and those who did hardly had anything to suggest or discuss.

    Sensing the opportunity, Mr. Bidhuri on behalf of the Nationalist Congress Party placed before the Commission his proposals for re-drawing boundaries for the seven Parliamentary constituencies. "The Commission has by and large agreed to the proposals submitted by me on behalf of my party. It would study them further but the response of Justice Singh was very positive and encouraging, '' says Mr. Bidhuri.

    Under the proposals, the Lok Sabha constituencies will be redefined and have new names with Outer Delhi and East Delhi being broken up into various segments. It is proposed that the North-West constituency would comprise of areas like Narela, Bawana, Kirari, Sultanpur Majra, Mangolpuri, Rithala, Badli, Rohini, Shalimar Bagh and Shakur Basti.

    The North-East constituency would have Burari, Adarsh Nagar, Model Town, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Mustafabad, Gokalpuri, Ghonda, Babarpur and Rohtas Nagar.

    The East Delhi constituency would include Seelampur, Seemapuri, Shahdara, Gandhi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar, Patparganj, Kondli and Trilokpuri; the New Delhi constituency would have Chandni Chowk, Ballimaran, Minto Road, New Delhi, Nizamuddin, Kashturba Nagar, Huaz Khas, R.K. Puram, Delhi Cantonment and Rajinder Nagar.

    Central Delhi would comprise Sadar Bazar, Karol Bagh, Wazirpur, Trinagar, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Madipur, Tagore Garden, Tilak Nagar and Hari Nagar.

    The South-West constituency would have Mundka, Nangloi Jat, Vikaspuri, Uttam Nagar, Najafgarh, Nasirpur, Palam, Matiyala, Janakpuri, Bijwasan.

    And South Delhi would have Mehrauli, Malviya Nagar, Chhattarpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Devli, Sangam Vihar, Tughlakabad, Kalkaji, Okhla and Badarpur.

    Printer friendly page  
    Send this article to Friends by E-Mail

    New Delhi

    News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
    Classifieds | Employment | Updates: Breaking News |

  • News Update

    The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
    Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | The Hindu Images | Home |

    Copyright 2005, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu