Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Sunday, Oct 30, 2005

News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Sport - Racing : Horse Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Double for Aliya Das

BANGALORE: Aliya Das Gupta of Princess Academy of Equitation notched up a double in the Glen Drummond 2nd Great Bangalore Horse Show at the Agram Riding ground here on Saturday.

Aliya emerged winner in the Show Jumping event for Young Riders astride Hannibal and then was again in the winner's circle with Hannibal in the Show Jumping Fault & Out event.

The results: Class D6 - Dressage (seniors): 1. NC Subbaya( Susan), CEA ; 2. Anant Agnihotri (Appeaser) ECE; 3. Ashok Sharma (Hans) ARPA.

Class D3 -Dressage (Junior): 1. Nadia (Ronson) EIRS; 2. Nidhi Dev (Time for Change) PAE; 3. Alisha Bhat (Sunspirit) EIRS.

Class SJ 4: Show Jumping (Young Riders): 1. Aliya Das Gupta (Hannibal) PAE; 2. Vivek Coelho (Sophisticated) PAE; 3. Ranvir Nanda (Royal Flame) PAE; 4. Ismail Javed (Silvano) EIRS.

Class SJ 5: Show Jumping Seniors: 1. Yohan (Architect) ECE; 2. NC Subbaya (Susan) CEA; 3. Maj P Thakur (Fateh) ASC &C; 4. NC Subbaya (Silent Boy) CEA;

Class SJ 10: Show Jumping Fault & Out: 1. Aliya Das Gupta (Hannibal) PAE; 2. NC Subbaya (Susan) CEA: 3. Ajai Appachu (Rose) EIRS; 4 Nishant Ravi (Family Honour) ECE and Ranvir Nanda (Royal Flame) PAE (tied for 4th place).

Class SJ 3: Show Jumping Juniors: 1 Kingshuk (Babur) ARPA; 2. Ali Askar Mirza (Zubana) ECE; 3. Anurag (Dost) ARPA.

MEG atop

MEG powered by smart spiking by Juby and former international Premjith outlasted a fighting ASC in five thrilling sets to top pool B in the A division volleyball league at the Sree Kanteerava stadium outdoor courts, here on Saturday. MEG won 25-19, 23-25, 18-25, 25-20, 15-11 for its fifth straight win in the six-team pool. ASC finished second with four wins. MEG had prevailed 25-11, 25-14, 22-25, 25-15 over AGORC in the morning.

In the day's other matches, Postal blanked SAI 25-22, 25-18, 25-22 to finish second in pool A behind toppers KSP with nine points. Laxminarayan shone for the winners.

In another pool B match ITI downed Sports Hostel 28-26, 25-17, 25-19.

Akhil crashes out

B.S. Srinivasa Prasad upset the seventh seed, Akhil Rangan 11-7, 14-12, 8-11,6-11,12-10, 11-6 and entered the men's singles quarterfinals in the M.S. Ramaiah memorial State-ranking table championship at the HMT Sports Club here on Saturday.

The other top players, including Uday S. Athreya and G. Ravishankar posted easy wins enroute to last eight round.

The results: Men's singles (pre-quarterfinals): Uday S. Atheyra bt Pranav 11-5,11-7,11-5,11-3 ; Praveen Joshi bt Anand Sridhatr 11-3,11-6,11-4,11-8 ; Avinash Amanna bt Rohit 11-6,11-9, 7-11,11-4,11-8 ; G. Ravishankar bt Ramachandran 11-4, 11-3,11-9,11-7 ; Srinivasa Prasad bt bt Akhil 11-7, 14-12, 8-11, 6-11, 12-10,11-6 ; C.P. Karthik bt B.S. Sandeep 11-8,11-9,11-4,11-3.

Sunil Joshi triumphs

Sunil Joshi bagged the prestigious `Rajyotsava' State award in Bangalore on Saturday.

Amruthahalli claims overall

Amruthahalli Centre claimed the overall team title in the State-level championship, conducted by the Karnataka Amateur Taekwondo Association, here recently. AFT Centre and Shanthidhama Centre secured the second and third sports respectively. Sharath Raj of Amruthahalli Centre and B.K. Soundarya of AFT Centre were adjudged as the best fighters in the boys and girls' sections respectively.

Adhiyaman posts win

Adhiyaman College of Engineering beat BEL Colony Youth Association 4-2 in the State `C' division league hockey tournament here on Saturday. Rajkumar scored twice and was supported by Ramesh and Senthil Valavan for the winner while Kishan and Bharat scored for the loser.

Bangalore Friends riding on Anand's hat-trick scored a 6-2 win over Falcons.

Mahendran, Steven and Srinivas were the others to score for Bangalore Friends. Sachin scored both the goals for Falcons.

Coorg Blues slammed seven goals against MICO to notch up an emphatic win. Gurjinder Singh and Rajesh Kumar (2 each), Almon, Herenj and RK Singh (off a penalty corner) were the others to score for Coorg Blues.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | The Hindu Images | Home |

Copyright 2005, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu