Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005

News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Sport - Sports : General Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Punjab powers past India Youth

NEW DELHI: Punjab powered to a 106-59 victory over India Youth in the inaugural match of the all-India Master Prithvi Nath Sharma memorial basketball tournament at the Prithvi Nath Stadium, Ajmal Khan Park, here on Tuesday.

In the women's round-robin league, Western Railway beat South East and Central Railway 86-73.

The groupings:

Men: Pool-A: ONGC, Punjab, Indian Youth, BSNL, Chennai; Pool-B: Indian Army, Western Railway, Prithvi Nath Club, Central Excise, Cochin.

Women: Western Railway, Southern Railway, South East and Central Railway, Indian Youth, MTNL, Delhi.

The results:

Men: Punjab 106 (Talwinderjit Singh 25, Amit Parashar 20, Pawandeep 17, Sumit 12) bt India Youth 59 (Sukhbir Dhillong 16, Aditya Biswas 12, Rajnish 10).

Women: Western Railway 86 (Ivy Cherian 21, Arnika Gujar 19, Rashmi 12, Shiji Kurien 11) bt South East and Central Railway 73 (Anju Lakra 34, Seema Singh 15, Bharti Netam 14).

Big win for NCC (NER)

Lalchhuanmawia scored four goals to steer NCC (NER), Aizwal, Mizoram, to a 9-0 win against Sainik School, Imphal, Manipur, in the group VI league match in the Subroto Cup junior football tournament at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Tuesday.

The Mizo striker scored in the 1st, 5th, 15th and 25th minutes as NCC took control of the match from the start. Lalhlimpuia and Lalhmangaiha scored two goals each while Simon was the other scorer for the Mizo school.

In the group VII league, BSL High School, Bokaro, Jharkhand, defeated Free Progress Academy, Imphal, Manipur, 4-2. Dipankar (8th and 40th), Denny (15th) and Suman (18th) were the scorers for the Bokaro school. For Manipur boys, Umakanta Singh (4th) and Ngouba Singh (9th) opened well but failed to maintain the tempo.

In another match in the same group, St. Xavier's High School, Mapusa, Goa, and Shah Satnamji Boys School, Sirsa, Haryana, played out a goalless draw.

Cyrus, Cyril move up

Cyrus Vakil and Cyril Kuhn entered the semifinals of the boys' under-19 and under-17 sections of the DDA Open squash tournament here.

The results (quarterfinals):

Men: Gaurav N. bt Vijay Kumar 9-3, 9-2, 9-0.

Boys (under-19): Naresh Kumar bt Suhail Kapoor 9-0, 9-5, 9-7; Cyrus Vakil bt Harshit Jain 9-5, 7-9, 9-6, 9-4; Cyril Kuhn bt Pratik Chalia 9-4, 9-6, 9-2; A. Partibhan bt Paramjit Singh 9-3, 9-0, 10-8.

Boys (under-17): Cyrus Vakil bt Varun Prakash 9-7, 9-3, 8-10, 9-5; Cyril Kuhn bt Satvik Joshi 9-1, 9-4, 9-7; Paramjit Singh bt Raghav Malik 9-5, 9-0, 7-9, 9-4; Ravi Dixit bt Karan Kumar 9-7, 9-1, 9-6.

Boys (under-13): Deepak Kumar Mishra bt Arjun Verma 9-4, 9-0, 9-3; Kush Kumar bt Sachit Jolly 9-6, 9-4, 9-2; Imaad Musuee bt Aditya Advani 9-6, 9-1, 9-1.

Manav Sthali triumphs

Manav Sthali claimed the cadet boys' team title and Hans Raj Model School won the sub-junior girls' crown in the inter-school table tennis tournament at the Ramjas School here on Tuesday.

The results:

Cadet boys (final): Manav Sthali beat Bhatnagar International 3-1 (Raghav Sachdeva bt Arnav Sachdeva 15-13, 11-8, 11-9; Rishab Sachdeva lost to Sahil Sachdeva 9-11, 12-10, 11-7, 11-13, 8-11; Rishab Kapoor bt Kanishk Nanda 11-7, 11-7, 8-11, 11-8; Rishab Sachdeva bt Arnav Sachdeva 11-7, 13-11, 9-11, 7-11, 11-8.

Sub-junior girls (final): Hans Raj Model School beat New Era 3-0 (Manika Batra bt Arushi Ghai 11-3, 11-3, 11-1; Sanya Sehgal bt Isha Arora 11-5, 11-7, 11-4; Pragya Babbar bt Vidhi Longyani 15-17, 11-8, 11-8, 9-11, 11-8.

Ganga IS in final

Ganga International School stormed into the final of the Himalaya Cup inter-school under-15 cricket tournament beating Ramjas School No. 2 by seven wickets in the first semifinal here on Tuesday.

The scores: Semifinal: Ramjas School No. 2 49 in 27.2 overs (Jitender Dubey 30, Raghvender Singh three for 11) lost to Ganga International School 52 for three in 17.4 overs (Rahul Tyagi 26).

League: DL DAV School 145 for nine in 40 overs (Avinash Gange 52, Rohit Mitthal 30, Dharmender Thakur three for 22) bt Ravindra Public School 71 in 23.2 overs (Rahul Khari 33, Sandeep Kaushik four for six, Prateek Kaushik three for 23).

Stance Club wins

Stance Club defeated Youngsters Club 4-0 in the final of the Delhi state clubs hockey league at the Shivaji Stadium here on Tuesday. The winner led 1-0 at the half time.

Sumer, Yashpal, Manjender and Bejender scored the goals.

In the final of the state school league, Kendriya Vidyalaya, Gole Market defeated JKG, Ghaziabad 3-0. The scorers were Ram Prasad, Sanjay Kumar and Ravi Sharma.

Green Field is champion

Green Field School, Safdarjung Enclave defeated MCD School, Janakpuri 23-25, 25-22, 23-25, 25-21, 15-11 to win the boys' title in the Delhi Volleyball Association tournament here.

In the girls' final, Vidya Bharti Public School, Rohini beat MCD School, Shahdara 25-13, 23-25, 25-17, 23-25, 15-13.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | The Hindu Images | Home |

Copyright 2005, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu