Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Wednesday, May 25, 2005

About Us
Contact Us
News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment |

Sport Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Navpreet upstages Ranvijay; sweet revenge for Joseph

GOLDEN THROW: Navpreet Singh of Punjab Police who clinched the shotput gold medal. — Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

Ludhiana: Kulwinder Singh, Ritu Rani (hammer), Jagdish Bishnoi (javelin) and Railways' Neelam J. Singh (discus) recorded their fourth successive wins in the domestic meets, winning their respective events in the third leg of the AFI National Circuit meet here on Tuesday.

Poonam Tomar of the Railways bagged her third consecutive gold in the women's 100m, while LIC's H. Jayachandran claimed the men's 100m crown for the second time in a row with an improved timing.

Chitra Soman, also of Railways, returned to her original event — 400m hurdles — on a triumphant note.

Punjab long jumper Maha Singh took the gold but failed to improve upon his own mark of 7.91m established at the Patiala meet on Saturday. The 24-year-old SAF Games champion cleared a distance of 7.68m.

CRPF's Joseph Abraham took sweet revenge on ONGC's P. Shankar in the 200m, while Punjab Police's Pritpal Singh edged out teammate Bhupinder Singh in triple jump.

In men's shot put, Ranvijay Singh's bid to win his fourth straight gold ended disastrously as he finished fourth. Punjab Police's Navpreet Singh claimed the title with a throw of 19.82m, while National record holder Shakti Singh's effort of 18.53m gave him the silver.

Punjab dominates

The Punjab athletes dominated the men's throws, clinching all the three — javelin, hammer and discus — gold medals at stake.

Jagdish Bishnoi continued his winning streak in javelin with a throw of 75.44. This, however, was below his gold-winning effort of 75.7 he achieved in New Delhi. Sunil Goswami (72.72) of Delhi and Gurkirat Singh (72.18) followed him.

Kulwinder Singh threw the hammer to a distance of 64.43m to take the gold.

Commonwealth Games silver medallist Neelam Singh put up a poor show but it was still good enough for the gold. The Railway discus thrower cleared 59.24m, much below the 60.65m she achieved in Patiala.

Delhi's Ritu Rani also came up with a below par performance in women's hammer throw with an effort of 54.60, but it gave her the gold.

In men's 800m, held for the first time this season, Ghamanda Ram of Services ran a fine race and completed the event in a creditable 1:49.63 in very hot conditions. LIC's Primesh (1:50.21) and Services' Suhesh (1:50.67) followed him.

The results:

Men: 100m: 1. H. Jayachandran (LIC) 10.51s, 2. Piyush Kumar (Rlys) 10.52s, Vishal Saxena (Rly) 10.57s; 200m: 1. Vishal Saxena (Rlys) 21.21s, 2. Piyush Kumar (Rlys) 21.35, 3. H. Jayachandran (LIC) 21.67s; 400m:

1. Satbir Singh (Ser) 46.71, 2. Bhupinder Singh (ONGC) 47.09, 3. Saji P.S. (CRPF) 47.64; 800m: 1. Ghamanda Ram (Ser) 1:49.63, 2. Primesh (LIC) 1:50.21, 3. Suhesh S.J. (Ser) 1:50.67; 400m hurdles: 1. Joseph Abraham (CRPF) 51.36, 2. P. Shankar (ONGC) 51.94, 3. Kuldev Singh (PP) 52.27; Triple Jump: 1. Pritpal Singh (PP) 15.70, 2. Bhupinder Singh (PP) 15.69, 3. Surabh (UP) 14.90; Shot put: 1. Navpreet Singh (PP) 19.82, 2. Shakti Singh (Rlys) 18.53, 3. Jaiveer Singh (Ser) 18.25; Hammer: 1.

Kulwinder Singh (PP) 64.43, 2. Harpal Singh (PP) 63.64, 3. Madhu Kumar (Rly) 61.44; Javelin: 1. Jagdish Bishnoi (PP) 75.44, 2. Sunil Goswami 72.72, 3. Gurkirat Singh (PP) 72.18.

Women: 100m: 1. Poonam Tomar (Rlys) 11.60, 2. K.M. Greeshamma (Ker) 11.97, 3. Mandeep Kaur (Pun) 12.20; 200m: 1. Manjeet Kaur (PP) 23.92, 2. Rajwinder Kaur (Pun) 23.95, 3. Shareen Thomas (Ker) 26.06;

800m: 1. Sunita Kanojia (Rlys) 2:07.34, 2. Sinimole Paulose (Tata Academy) 2:07.95, 3. Sutapa Das (Ben) 2:11.26; 400m hurdles: 1. Chitra Soman (Rlys) 57.70, 2. Baljeet Kaur (Rlys) 1:01.08, 3. Sahibani Oram (Rlys) 1:03.04; Discus: 1. Neelam J. Singh (Rlys) 59.24, 2. Krishna Poonia (Rlys) 54.99, 3. Seema Antil (Har) 54.37; Hammer: 1. Ritu Rani (Dli) 54.60, 2. Ushma Singh (Dli) 54.06 and 3. Archana Singh (Bih) 53.15. — UNI

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Employment | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | The Hindu Images | Home |

Copyright 2005, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu