Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004

About Us
Contact Us
New Delhi
News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

New Delhi Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

MCD revises house tax category for 56 colonies

By Our Staff Reporter

NEW DELHI, OCT. 25. Apparently succumbing to public pressure and fearing a political backlash, the Congress-ruled Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) today announced reduction in the categories of 56 localities and colonies across the Capital under the new unit area method for paying house tax besides lowering the categories of Janata Flats and urbanised villages.

The MCD House also decided not to extend the last date for availing of the 15 per cent rebate which is October 31.

Accepting the recommendations of the Hardship and Anomalies Committee for re-categorisation of colonies, areas and localities, DDA Janata Flats and residential areas in urbanised villages, the House also said it would not consider any new cases for change in categorisation in the current year.

The MCD's Standing Committee had already approved these recommendations and the House also gave its go-ahead today.

Interestingly, since the new house tax regime was announced earlier this year, categories of almost 400 colonies have been lowered so far.

However, there are three areas where the categories have been reduced by two level -- Dilkush Bagh Industrial Area from category "C" to "E", Keshav Puram from "D" to "F" and Shivaji Enclave (W-24) from "C" to "E".

Then there are two urbanised villages -- Basant Gaon and Shahpur Jat -- where category has been reduced from "D" to "E". The new inclusion in the list include Balbir Nagar Extension, Durgapuri Extension and Mukhimpura, all in category "G"; Gau Shala and Manak Pura in "F"; Ram Nagar Extension and Sriniwaspuri Extension in "E"; Vijay Mandal Enclave in "C" and Jor Bagh village in urban village category.

Now, the Janata Flats, which the Committee felt were "essentially occupied by very low income groups of similar category of people", falling in South and Central zones will come under "E" category instead of earlier "D" category, while those in West and Nazafgarh zones will fall in category "F" as against "E" category. Similarly, the category of Janata Flats in Civil Lines, Shahdara (South), Shahdara (North), Narela and Rohini zones has also been lowered by one category and will now fall in "G".

Similarly, localities like Anand Lok, Chirag Enclave, Hemkunt Colony, Pamposh Enclave, Panchsheel Enclave and Qutab Institutional Area that were till now in category "A" will now fall in category "B".

While areas like Kailash Kunj, Munirka Enclave and Munirka Vihar will fall in category "C" instead of "B".

Areas that have got their category reduced from "C" to "D" are Derawal Nagar, Dilkush Bagh, Gujrawala Town, Okhla Industrial Area, Okhla Industrial Estate, Prasad Nagar (LIG, MIG Flats), Sant Nagar, Sarita Vihar and Tagore Park (W-116). While areas like Ajay Enclave, Bhogal (6), Christian Colony, Gokhale Market, Jain Colony (Vir Nagar), Kashmere Gate, Loha Mandi (Naraina), Moti Nagar, New Gupta Colony, Palam Enclave, Panchwati, Rajpur and Gurmandi Duplex Quarters, and Sanjay Gandhi Nagar will now fall in category "E" instead of "D".

Similarly, localities like Acharya Niketan, Bagh Raoji Colony, Bara Hindu Rao, Baradari, Karampura, Mahindra Park, Mansarovar Park, Pratap Nagar (Andha Mughal), Punjabi Basti Subzi Mandi, Raghubir Nagar, Sawan Park, Shashi Garden, Siddhipura and Tuglakabad will now fall in category "F" instead of "E". Colonies whose category has been changed from "F" to "G" are Babarpur (East and West), Balbir Nagar, Bhagwanpur Khera, Dayalpur, Mangla Puri, Ram Nagar (Rohtas Nagar), Taimoor Nagar and colonies of Uttam Nagar ward number 48 (in category "F").

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail

New Delhi

News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update


The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2004, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu