Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Friday, Jun 11, 2004

About Us
Contact Us
News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment |

Kerala Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Four new Bishops elected

By Our Staff Reporter

PATHANAMTHITTA, JUNE 10. Four new Bishops for the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church and the Clergy Trustee have been elected at a meeting of the Malankara Syrian Christian Association (MSCA) held at Parumala in accordance with the 1934 constitution of the Church today.

Augen Ramban, K. J. Gabriel, Yuhanon Ramban and M. C. Cherian are the priests who have been elected as the new Bishops and O. Thomas is the new Clergy Trustee. All the newly-elected Bishops belonged to the official panel prepared by the managing committee of the Church.

The town of Parumala was flooded with representatives and members of the Church from different dioceses in the country and abroad in view of the election of new Bishops for the Church.

The registration of the MSCA members who came for the election was held from 9 a.m. to 12 noon on Parumala seminary premises.

The Malankara Metropolitan and the Catholicos of the East, Moran Mor Baselius Mar Thoma Mathews-II, who is also the MSCA president, and other metropolitans were escorted to the venue, Mar Gregorios Nagar, from the St Paul's and St Peter's Church prior to the association meeting at 1 p.m.

Mar Baselius presided over the MSCA meet and the Church secretary, Alexander Karackal, read out the declaration of the Church as part of the democratic process to elect the new Bishops and the Clergy Trustee.

The metropolitans, Yakoob Mar Ireneus, Paulose Mar Pachomeus, Zacharias Mar Nicholoas, Geevarghese Mar Koorilos, Gevarghese Mar Evaneus, Paulose Mar Militheus, Thomas Mar Athanaseus, Youhanon Mar Militheus, Thomas Mar Athanaseus, Philipose Mar Eusebius, Mathews Mar Epiphaneus, Mathews Mar Barnabas, Abraham Mar Savarius, Kuriakose Mar Cleemis, Job Mar Peelexinos, Mathews Mar Savarius, Stephanos Mar Theodoceus, Zacharias Mar Anthoneus, Thomas Mar Macharius, Geevarghese Mar Osthatheus and the Catholicos-designate, Thomas Mar Themotheus, were among those who attended the meeting. The Lay Trustee, P. C. Abraham Padinjarekkara and Karackal were among those who accompanied the chief guests to the venue.

The voting started at 2-30 p.m. in a specially arranged pandal that housed 60 polling booths on the Parumala Seminary premises and it came to a close at 4-30 p.m.

The election of Bishops was held on the basis of single non-transferable vote and that of the Clergy Trustee through preferential secret ballot.

A total of 18 candidates, including seven priests nominated by the 171-member Church Managing Committee, contested today's election of new Bishops. Though the MSCA has got 1,319 priests as its members, only 900 of them turned up for today's election. Meanwhile, 2,217 of the 2,732 lay members of the Church participated in the democratic process today, according to P. H. Kurien, the Returning Officer appointed by the Malankara Metropolitan.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2004, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu