Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Monday, Mar 01, 2004

About Us
Contact Us
News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Kerala Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

KSSP to continue with existing policies

By Our Staff Reporter

KOZHIKODE, FEB. 29. Unmindful of the criticism raised against it for receiving foreign-funds for various projects, the Kerala Sastra Sahitya Parishad (KSSP) has decided to go ahead with its existing policies and programmes in the State.

While the organisation has decided not to drag the controversy between it and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) on the issue of foreign funding, it has decided to take on the charges levelled by Padhom that carried articles on the issue of foreign funding. The controversy had led to a polemical debate in the CPI (M) State Committee on February 15, culminating in the ouster of M.P. Parameswaran, one of the founder leaders of the KSSP, from the party.

This was one of major decisions vis-a-vis the organisation and the CPI(M) taken at the three-day State conference, which concluded at Mananthawady in Wayanad today.

Later, addressing a news conference after the conclusion of the conference, the KSSP State president, K. Pappootty, the secretary, V. G. Gopinathan, and the former secretary, N.K. Sasidharan Pillai, also clarified that their organisation had no regrets getting funds from the Centre for Development Studies (CDS)-approved projects even if it was through any foreign agencies.

They said that a section of the people in Left parties and right wing media forces joined hands to rake up the controversy. Their only aim was to sabotage the activities of the KSSP including the campaign against sand-mining and malign some of its members.

The KSSP, which had availed Dutch assistance through CDS for one of its projects relating to democratic decentralisation, had drawn flak from the CPI(M). On the other hand the CPI (M) did not find anything unusual in accepting funds to the tune of Rs.10.5 crores from the Swiss Government for projects at the Government-run Kerala Institute of Local Administration (KILA) in Thrissur while in power. Later the Swiss Government refused to extend funding for the project after allegations that the funds had not be properly utilised. These issues had been highlighted in the media.

Mr. Pappootty also clarified that no strings had been attached to the foreign funds of the projects undertaken by the organisation. Those attacking the KSSP were actually tools in the hands of the imperialistic forces. Even then the KSSP did not responded in the manner in which it had been attacked, he said.

The KSSP has come out with some concrete plans such as organising a campaign at 500 centres from March 20 to 25 against Modernising Government Programmes (MGP). The campaigns would also be taken out against the Express Highway, Jalanidhi and Deforestation programmes.

In the months of April and May, a programme , `Sargolsavam' will be held for children in Alappuzha. Public opinions will be gathered against the anti-people policies taking place in the health and education sectors.

Some of the resolutions passed at the conference were against the anomalies in the SSLC valuation system, the move to exclude the Sabarimala forest area from the Periyar Tiger Reserve and the proposal to set up a herbal valley in the Silent Valley Reserve Forest.

Pappootty re-elected president

K. Pappootty was re-elected president of the Kerala Sastra Sahitya Parishad (KSSP) at the three-day State meeting of the organisation, which concluded at Mananthawady in Wayanad district today.

V.G. Gopinathan (general secretary), K.T. Radhakrishnan and E. Vilasini (vice-presidents), K.K. Manilal, C.M. Muraleedharan and K.G. Harikumar (secretaries) Y. Achutha Prasad (treasurer) were the other new office-bearers elected at the meeting.

The following are the conveners of other sub-committees: Kavumbai Balakrishnan (publication), Joji Kuttummal (environment), N. Jagajeevan (Balavedi), K.M. Elias (environment legal cell), K.K. Sivadasan (education), M.K. Prasad (environment centre), P.N.N. Pisharody (health), K. Balagopalan (science forum), C. Madhusoodhanan (education research unit), P.S. Rajashekaran (arts and culture), Susheela Sugathan (women), A. Raghavan (development), R.V.G. Menon (Editor, `Sastragathi'), K.B. Janardhanan (Editor, `Eureka').

A.M.Balakrishnan, T. Gangadharan, P. Soumini, K.P. Aravindan, K.N. Ganesh, Vinod, T.K. Antony, K. Sudharshana Bhai, M.P. Parameswaran, V.R. Reghunandan, A.P. Saraswathy, K.V. Sabu, K. Ramachandran, Rejimon Cherian, N.K. Sasidharan Pillai, K.V. Vijayan, C.D. Augustine, K. Bhaskaran, T. Radhamani, R.B. Rajalekshmi, P.R. Vedavyasan and M. Gopakumar are the members of the Central Working Committee.

P.K. Ravindran (Registrar, Integrated Rural Technology Centre), T.P. Sukumaran (managing editor), C.P. Narayanan (president, All India People's Science Network), K.Unnikrishnan (director, IRTC) were also elected. The chairmen of various sub-committees, T.P. Kunhikannan, K. Sreedharan, B. Ekbal, O.M. Sankaran, Kodakkad Sreedharan and K.K.Krishna Kumar were also included in the working committee.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2004, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu