Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Friday, Nov 28, 2003

About Us
Contact Us
News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Sport - Table Tennis Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

PSPB, Tamil Nadu enter knockout stage

By Ours Sports Reporter

Andhra Pradesh's State women's champion A. Bhavya poised for a forehand serve against Bihar's Saika Praveen at the 65th LIC Junior National table tennis championship in Kochi on Thursday. AP blanked Bihar 3-0 and entered the girls pre-quarterfinals.

KOCHI NOV. 27. Defending champion PSPB Academy and runner-up Tamil Nadu posted comfortable wins and cruised into the boys' knockout stage (pre-quarterfinals) of the 65th LIC junior National inter-State table tennis championships at the Rajiv Gandhi indoor stadium here on Thursday evening.

In the girls' section, Andhra Pradesh and host Kerala made the pre-quarterfinals while defending champion Tamil Nadu stayed on course for a berth after thrashing Orissa 3-0.

Kerala Tourism Minister K.V. Thomas inaugurated the six-day event at a colourful function presided over by the organising committee chairman K. John Cherian.

The results (league matches, with qualifiers to knockout stage in brackets):

Boys, Group A: PSPB A bt Jharkhand 3-0; Assam bt Jharkhand 3-0. (PSPB A & Assam qualify).

Group B: Tamil Nadu bt J&K 3-0; Maharashtra `B' bt J&K 3-0 (TN & Maharashtra `B' qualify).

Group C: Bengal bt Haryana 3-0; Bengal w/o Tripura; Haryana bt Chattisgarh 3-1; Chattisgarh w/o Tripura. (Bengal qualifies).

Group D: Karnataka bt Mizoram 3-0; Gujarat bt Madhya Pradesh 3-0; Gujarat bt Karnataka 3-1; Madhya Pradesh bt Mizoram 3-2. (Gujarat qualifies).

Group E: Maharashtra `A' bt Meghalaya 3-0; Uttaranchal bt Rajasthan 3-1; Maharashtra `A' bt Uttaranchal 3-0; Rajasthan bt Meghalaya 3-0. (Maharashtra `A' qualifies).

Group F: Uttar Pradesh bt Orissa 3-0; UP bt Goa 3-0; Punjab bt Goa 3-2; Punjab bt Orissa 3-2 (UP & Punjab qualify).

Group G: Centre of Excellence bt Chandigarh 3-0; Centre of Excellence bt Pondicherry 3-0; Andhra Pradesh bt Pondicherry 3-0; AP bt Chandigarh 3-0 (CoE & AP qualify).

Group H: Delhi bt Himachal Pradesh 3-0; Kerala bt Bihar 3-0; Delhi bt Bihar 3-1.

Girls: Group A: Tamil Nadu bt Orissa 3-0; Orissa bt Pondicherry 3-0; Group B: Bengal bt Mizoram 3-0; Uttaranchal bt Mizoram 3-0 (Bengal & Uttaranchal qualify).

Group C: Gujarat bt Jharkhand 3-0; Maharashtra `B' bt Jharkhand 3-0. (Gujarat & Jharkhand qualify).

Group D: Maharashtra `B' bt J&K 3-0; Madhya Pradesh bt J&K 3-0 (Maharashtra `A' & MP qualify).

Group E: Delhi bt Himachal Pradesh 3-0; Delhi bt Goa 3-0; Kerala bt HP 3-0; Kerala bt Goa 3-0 (Delhi & Kerala qualify).

Group F: Karnataka bt Chattisgarh 3-0; Karnataka bt Rajasthan 3-0; Haryana bt Chattisgarh 3-0; Haryana bt Rajasthan 3-0.

Group G: Assam bt Punjab 3-0; Chandigarh bt Uttar Pradesh 3-1.

Group H: Andhra Pradesh bt Bihar 3-0; AP w/o Tripura; Centre of Excellence bt Bihar 3-0 (CoE & AP qualify).

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2003, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu