Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Monday, Sep 29, 2003

About Us
Contact Us
News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Sport - Chess Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Three upsets mark opening round

By Our Special Correspondent

VIJAYAWADA Sept. 28. Three upsets marked the opening round of the National junior girls championship at the Indira Gandhi Municipal Corporation (IGMC) stadium here on Sunday.

Rank outsider Shruthi upstaged Sowmya Swaminathan (ELO rating 2091), Pragna Patavi shocked Asian under-14 champ J. Rajasurya (1990) and Sapnita Shinde got the better of Asian under-10 champion Lakshmi Sahiti (1914).

After Shruthi's irregular opening, Sowmya played d6 apparently without any purpose on the 16th. In the next, she bungled with Be6, losing a solid piece at the C5 square. Playing black, Sowmya was left with virtually no room to recover.

Rajasurya opened with e4, parried by Patavi's French defence. The former shifted her King to f2, a weak move. The next one wasn't any better as White moved her Queen to c2, opening up her f file. Positionally, Rajasurya had lost ground, but her real failing lay in underestimating her opponent, opting for Ng5 on the 16th, which was rapidly countered by Black's Rf5. If that was a flawed move, the one after was a blunder in that Rajasurya went for Qd3. Black built up material advantage without compensation, paving the way to victory.

The results (first round):

Eesha Karvade 1 bt Damini Chakrabarthi, Dishari Chakrabarthi lost to K. Chandrahawsa 1, Y. Prathiba 1 bt Akdhaya Lakshmi, G. Madhanasri lost to Kruthika Nadig 1, Pranitha K.L. 1 bt G.M.L. Nimisha, Pallavi Maiya 1 bt H. Nilavoli, Mahima Raj Mohan 1 bt J. Ramya Sree, K. Keerthi lost to Saheli Nath 1, N. Sandhya 1 bt K. Laya Keerthi, K. Manasa lost to N. Vinuthna 1, P. Priya 1 bt K. Nayana, K. Sruthi 1 bt Sowmya S., C. Delphin 1 bt Karthik Ramesh, Lalitha Raghavendar lost to Anuprita P. 1, M. Priyadarshini 0.5 drew with M. Gayathri 0.5, M. Iswarya lost to M. Rajadarshini 1, J.E. Kavitha 1 bt M. Vaisali, Malabika Singh lost to Alka Das 1, Baisaki Das lost to Mohan Priya J. 1, N. Swathi lost to Kiran Monisha M. 1, S. Nabeela Farheen 1 bt Niharika, T. Susmitha lost to Supriya Majhi 1, Amrutha Mokal 1 bt P. Uttara 1, P. Davangi lost to N. Raghavi 1, Prachi Sharma lost to Malar Selvi 1, Rajasurya lost to Pragna Patavi 1, Priyanka Bapat lost to Ramya Krishna 1, Aswathy Balagopalan 1 bt S.L. Padmaja, S. Ramya 0.5 drew with Meenu Rajendran 0.5, Anjana N. Sowjanya 1 bt Sajana Yasmin, Sapnita Shinde 1 bt Lakshmi Sahiti, Ayushi Roy Choudhary 1 bt Shaja, Shrishti J. Shetty 1 bt Anu Gupta, Sowmya V. Vaze 1 bt B. Aruna, B. Umamaheshwari lost to Suchandra 1, Sunitri Das 1 bt B.L. Keerthi, Ch. Chandana 1 bt Susmitha, Tejaswi 1 bt Ch. Divya Sree, Chandra lost to Veena Mounica 1.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2003, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu