Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Monday, Dec 17, 2001

About Us
Contact Us
Southern States

News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Entertainment | Miscellaneous | Features |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

Southern States - Karnataka-Bangalore

Shivaraj, Tara, Anu bag State film awards

By Our Staff Reporter

BANGALORE, DEC. 16. The Minister of State for Information and Publicity Mr. M.Shivanna, has said that the Government will consider the request of the Kannada film industry for fixing a date to present the annual State film awards.

The Minister was speaking at a function to present the State film awards for the years 1999-2000 and 2000-20001 organised by the Department of Information and Publicity. He said the Government was hopeful that the Kannada film industry would produce better films. He also announced the Government's decision to institute a new Life Time Award.

The Governor, Ms. V.S.Rama Devi, explained the importance of cinema as a powerful cultural medium and its impact on society.

The President of Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Tallam Nanjunda Shetty, urged the Government not to discontinue with some of the sops being given to the film industry. The chairpersons of the respective award selection committees, Ms. Jayamala and Mr. M.S.Satyu, spoke on the mode and method they adopted to select artistes and films for the awards.

The prestigious Rajkumar Award and Puttanna Kanagal Award for the years 1999-2000 and 2000-2001 were presented to the leading actress of yesteryear, Ms. Leelavathi, the film director, Mr. V.Somashekhar, and the music director, Mr. M.Vijaya Bhaskar, and the film director, Mr. K.V.Jayaram, respectively. Both the awards carry a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh, a citation and a memento each.

The Life Time Award instituted with retrospective effect from the year 1999-2000, was given to Mr. S.P.Varadaraju, younger brother of Mr. Rajkumar. Mr. T.S.Narasimhan, who produced late R.K.Narayan's ``Malgudi Days'' for Doordarshan, bagged the Life Time Award for 2000-2001. The award carries a cash prize of Rs.50,000, a citation and a memento.

The awards for 1999-2000 are: Three best films -- ``Deveeri'', ``Kanooru Heggadati'' and ``Chandramukhi Pranasakhi''.

Best actor Mr. Shivaraj Kumar; Best actress Ms. Tara; Best supporting actor Mr. Srinivasa Murthy; Best supporting actress Ms. Vinaya Prasad; Best story writer Prof. Baragur Ramachandrappa; Best screenplay Mr. Rajendra Babu; Best dialogue writer Mr. A.G.Sheshadri; Best cameraman Mr. J.G.Krishna; Best music director Mr. K.Kalyan; Best sound recordist Mr. Kodandapani; Best editor Mr. S.Manohar; Best child artiste Master Manja; Best art director Mr. Shashidhar Adapa; Best lyricist Prof. Baragur Ramachandrappa; Best playback singer Mr. Rajesh Krishnan; and Best female playback singer Ms. Latha Hamsalekha.

``Shabdavedi'' was selected as a special socially eventful film. The film, ``AK 47'', bagged a special prize.

The awards for 2000-20001 are Three best films -- ``Mussanje'', ``Shapa'' and ``Kurigalu Saar Kurigalu''.

Best actor Mr. H.G.Dattatreya; Best actress Ms. Anu Prabhakar; Best supporting actor Avinash; Best supporting actress Ms. Umashri; Best story writer Mr. Bolavaru Mohammed Kunhi; Best screenplay Mr. Ashok Patil; Best dialogue writer Mr. P.R.Ramadas Naidu; Best cameraman Ashok Kashyap; Best music director Mr. N.Govardhan; Best sound recordist Mr. S.Mahendran; Best editor Mr. Anil Naidu; Best child artiste Master Rohit Bhat; Best lyricist Mr. Itagi Eranna; Best playback singer Mr. Rameshchandra; and the Best female playback singer Ms. Chitra.

``Munnudi' was selected as a special socially eventful film, while special prizes were given to Ms. Jubeda and Ms. Anupama for costume.

Send this article to Friends by E-Mail

Southern States

News: Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Entertainment | Miscellaneous | Features |
Classifieds | Employment | Obituary |

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | Home |

Copyright 2001, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu