Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Tuesday, October 31, 2000

Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Features | Classifieds | Employment | Index | Home

Southern States | Previous | Next

51 chosen for Rajyotsava award: Amur, Sudha, Simha among recipients

By Our Staff Reporter

BANGALORE, OCT. 30. The State Government has conferred the prestigious State award on 51 persons including Mr. V. Somaiah, former Secretary, Department of Home in the Union Government, noted literary critics, Prof. G. S. Amur and Prof. G.H. Naik, Ms. Krishna Hangal, Dr. K. Krishna Murthy, the renowned researcher, Dr. U. P. Upadhyaya, the veteran journalist, Mr. Madan Mohan, the well-known environmentalist, Mr. A. N. Yellappa Reddy, and the stage personality, Mr. C. R. Simha, in recognition of their contribution to their respective fields. It has also honoured five institutions in recognition of their service to society.

Announcing the list of awardees selected by a Cabinet Committee, the Minister of State for Kannada and Culture, Ms. Rani Satish, told presspersons here today that of the 2,000 applications received, only 15 persons were selected. The rest were recognised purely on the basis of merit and contribution. The awards will be presented on the occasion of the 45th Rajyotsava Day to be observed here on November 1. The award, instituted in 1966, carries a citation, a memento and a gold medal worth Rs. 10,000. The 45 awardees and their respective fields are:

Literature: Prof. G. S. Amur (Dharwad), Prof. G.H. Naik (Mysore), Mr. A. K. Rameshwar (children's literature - Gulbarga) and Prof. B.S. Siddalingaiah (poetry-Bangalore).

Constructive service: Mr. V. G. Somaiah (retired Home Secretary, Union Government and Auditor and Comptroller General- Kodagu), Mr. B.C.Angadi (former Secretary, PWD - Belgaum), Ms. Elizabeth Cherian (medical and social service - Bangalore) and Mr. Kodi Hosalli Ramanna (Bangalore Rural).

Music and dance: Ms. Krishna Hangal (Hindustani music - Dharwad), Mr. B.M. Munivenkatappa (Carnatic music - Bangalore Rural), Ms. Rashmi Hegde Gopi (Bharatanatya - Dakshina Kannada), Mr. Bangalore K. Venkataram (Ghatam - Bangalore), Mr. H. Sitarama Rao (Gamaka - Shimoga) and Mr. Shivananda Patil (Hindustani music - Belgaum).

Environment: Mr. A.N. Yellappa Reddy.

Journalism: Mr. N.V. Joshi (Samyukta Karnataka - Bijapur), Mr. M. Madan Mohan (The Hindu - Dharwad), Mr. Ramachandra Swamy (photo journalist - Bangalore) and Mr. K. Sridharachar (Prajavani - Dakshina Kannada).

Freedom fighters: Mr. Sardara Sharana Gowda Patil (Gulbarga).

Painting and sculpture: Ms. Sharada Raju (Bangalore) and Ms. Subhashini Devi (Mysore).

Stage: Mr. G. Kumaraswamy (professional theatre- Chitradurga), Mr. N. M. Kedagi (playwright- Bijapur) and Mr. C. R. Simha (amateur theatre - Bangalore).

Agriculture: Dr. K. Krishna Murthy (former Vice Chancellor, UAS - Bangalore).

Education: Prof. B.G. Annigeri (Gadag).

Research: Dr. U.P. Upadhyaya (Udupi).

Social service: Tattvanveshana Kendra (cultural institution - Dharwad), Bangalore Gayana Samaja (cultural institution - Bangalore), Sri Vivekananda Kala Kendra (social and cultural institution - Bangalore), Sumangali Sevaashrama (women's institution - Bangalore), Mr. Narasimhaiah (Bangalore), Mr. M.R. Syed Sanaullah (Davangere), Ms. Soligara Siddamma (Chamarajanagar) and Ms. Sudha Narayanamurthy (Bangalore).

Sports: Mr. Abhijit (swimming - Bangalore) and Mr. B. L.Gaviyappa (coach for disabled sports persons - Bangalore Rural)

Cinema: Ms. Umasri, Mr. Rajesh and Ms. Shantamma (Bangalore)

Medical: Dr. C. Annapurnamma, Dr. Parthasarathi (Bangalore) and Dr. Honnabhovi (Chitradurga).

Horanadu Kannadiga and Horanadu Kannada organisation: Mr. Bola Sripada Hegde (Mumbai) and Mysore Association (Mumbai)

Folk and Yakshagana: Mr. Arate Manjunatha (Udupi), Mr. Aralaguppe Channabasavaiah (Tumkur), Ms. Kalvavva Jogati (Bellary), Mr. Keremane Shambu Hegde (Uttara Kannada), Mr. Goodu Saheba Meera Saheba (Belgaum), Mr. K.C. Nagaraja (Haveri), Mr. Bhimaraya Hanumatharaya Nelogi (Gulbarga), Mr. J. Lingaiah (Bangalore), Mr. Meepakshappa Kshatri (Gadag) and Shambanna Benthur (Gadag).

Send this article to Friends by E-Mail

Section  : Southern States
Previous : 'Paradise' regained: this cuppa is always hot 'n'
Next     : Eco-tourism planned at Kemmanagundi

Front Page | National | Southern States | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Features | Classifieds | Employment | Index | Home

Copyrights © 2000 The Hindu

Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu